Project description

Beethoven's 1st Piano Concerto goes Jazz &
Mahler's 1st Symphony in the Great Festival Hall

Protection of honor: Mag. Karoline Edtstadler, Federal Minister for EU & Constitution

L. v. BEETHOVEN · Piano Concerto No. 1 goes Jazz, C major, op.15
Program change: G. MAHLER Symphony No. 1

Chris Gall plays Beethoven's first piano concert as a jazz version in the Großer Festspielhaus
Tickets

sold out (waiting list)

The Philharmonie Salzburg plays Beethoven's 9th symphony in the Großer Festspielhaus.

Jazz pianist Chris Gall interprets Ludwig van Beethoven's first piano concert in the Großer Festspielhaus

Beethoven was a brilliant improvisation artist on the piano and is therefore considered a pioneer of jazz in specialist circles.
Hardly any German pianist has expanded the style boundaries of jazz so consistently and originally in recent years as Munich-based Chris Gall. He thrilled audiences with jazz, indie rock and world music from the jazz festival in Montreux to the Jazz Baltica, at the Stuttgart Jazz Open and in the Vienna Konzerthaus. In Salzburg, he will perform Beethoven's 1st piano concerto in a surprising interpretation.

Program change: Instead of Beethoven's 9th Symphony, the 1st Symphony by Gustav Mahler will be played

We are still of the opinion that cultural events can also be held safely in these times, but we still want to make our contribution to preventing the COVID-19 case numbers, which have significantly deteriorated again in recent weeks worsen. That's why we decided to perform Gustav Mahler's 9st Symphony instead of Beethoven's 1th Symphony with choir. With this program change, we ensure that we have less than 100 participants on the large-scale stage of the Great Festival Hall.

Mahler's 1st Symphony was a joint decision, as we had already rehearsed this work in March and the orchestra had expressed the wish to finally be able to perform it. It would not be possible to play this huge symphony in the Kongresshaus, as the stage size would not be sufficient. We are therefore delighted to be able to present Mahler's Symphony No. 1 to you. A moving evening awaits you with a wonderful program. We would be happy if you want to spend this evening with us despite the change in the program.

Chris Gall · Piano
Elisabeth Fox · Conductor
Philharmonic Salzburg

THU December 3, 2020 · 19: 30 SOLD OUT (waiting list)
Big festival house, Salzburg
(originally October 22, 2020)

Ticket prices: € 19 to € 89
Organizer ∙ Tickets: Philharmonie Salzburg

Estimated end of concert approx. 21:45 p.m.
Concert without a break.

Photo © E. Mayer / Ch. Simmerl

Projekt Beschreibung

Beethovens 1. Klavierkonzert goes Jazz &
Mahlers 1. Symphonie im Großen Festspielhaus

Ehrenschutz: Mag. Karoline Edtstadler, Bundesministerin für EU & Verfassung

L. v. BEETHOVEN · Klavierkonzert Nr. 1 goes Jazz, C-Dur, op. 15
Programmänderung: G. MAHLER · Symphonie Nr. 1

Chris Gall spielt Beethovens 1. Klavierkonzert als Jazz-Version im Großen Festspielhaus
Tickets

ausverkauft (Warteliste)

Die Philharmonie Salzburg spielt Beethovens 9. Symphonie im Großen Festspielhaus.

Jazz-Pianist Chris Gall interpretiert Ludwig van Beethovens 1. Klavierkonzert im Großen Festspielhaus

Beethoven war ein genialer Improvisationskünstler am Klavier und wird deshalb in Fachkreisen als Wegbereiter des Jazz gehandelt.
Kaum ein deutscher Pianist hat in den vergangenen Jahren die Stilgrenzen des Jazz so konsequent und originell erweitert wie der Münchner Chris Gall. Er begeistert mit Jazz, Indie-Rock und Weltmusik das Publikum vom Jazzfestival in Montreux bis zur Jazz Baltica, bei den Stuttgart Jazz Open und im Wiener Konzerthaus. In Salzburg wird er Beethovens 1. Klavierkonzert in einer überraschenden Interpretation zum Besten geben.

Programmänderung: Statt Beethovens 9. Symphonie wird die 1. Symphonie von Gustav Mahler gespielt

Wir sind nach wie vor der Meinung, dass Kulturveranstaltungen auch in diesen Zeiten sicher durchgeführt werden können, aber wir wollen trotzdem unseren Beitrag dazu leisten, dass sich die COVID-19-Fallzahlen, die sich in den letzten Wochen wieder deutlich verschlechtert haben, nicht weiter verschlechtern. Deshalb haben wir uns dazu entschlossen, anstatt Beethovens 9. Symphonie mit Chor, Gustav Mahlers 1. Symphonie aufzuführen. Durch diese Programmänderung stellen wir sicher, dass wir unter 100 Mitwirkende auf der großflächigen Bühne des Großen Festspielhauses haben.

Mahlers 1. Symphonie war eine gemeinsame Entscheidung, da wir dieses Werk bereits im März geprobt hatten und das Orchester den Wunsch ausgesprochen hat, es nun endlich aufführen zu können. Im Kongresshaus wäre es nicht möglich, diese gewaltige Symphonie zu spielen, da die Bühnengröße dafür nicht ausreichen würde. Deshalb freuen wir uns, Ihnen Mahlers 1. Symphonie präsentieren zu können. Es erwartet Sie ein bewegender Abend, mit wunderschönem Programm. Wir würden uns freuen, wenn Sie trotz der Programmänderung diesen Abend mit uns verbringen wollen.

Chris Gall · Klavier
Elisabeth Fuchs · Dirigentin
Philharmonie Salzburg

DO · 3. Dezember 2020 · 19:30 · AUSVERKAUFT (Warteliste)
Großes Festspielhaus, Salzburg
(ursprünglich 22. Oktober 2020)

Kartenpreise: 19 € bis 89 €
Veranstalter ∙ Karten: Philharmonie Salzburg

Voraussichtliches Konzertende ca. 21:45.
Konzert ohne Pause.

Foto © E. Mayer / Ch. Simmerl