Mozart's Requiem & Schumann's 4th Symphony
Moving music for the dead and romantic sound poetry during Holy Week

Achieving heaven is something glorious and sublime,
but also on the dear earth it is incomparably beautiful.

So let's be human.
- Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

R. SCHUMANN · Symphony No. 4, D minor, Op. 120
WA MOZART · Requiem, D minor, KV 626

Numerous myths have grown up around Mozart's last work, which he left behind incomplete, not least because of the death theme and the close proximity of its creation to his death. The work was finally completed by two of his students and carries with it the strong emotions that overtake people in the face of death: fear, anger, despair, sadness, hope, consolation. The Salzburg Philharmonic will precede this moving work by Robert Schumann's Symphony No. 4, also in D minor.

Maria Bernius · Soprano
Katrin Auzinger · Old
Paul Schweinester Tenor
John Wimmer Bass
Elisabeth Fuchs · Conductor
Choir of the Philharmonie Salzburg
Philharmonic Salzburg

MI · 5. April 2023 · 19: 30
DO · 6. April 2023 · 19: 30

Great Hall Mozarteum, Salzburg

Expected end of the concert around 21:35. Concerts with a break.

Ticket prices: € 12 to € 59
Organizer · Tickets: Philharmonie Salzburg

Invitation to sing along!

Rehearsal schedule and online registration for choir singers

Photo © E. Mayer