Choir of the Philharmonie Salzburg

The chorus of the Salzburg Philharmonic works together with the Salzburg Philharmonic under the direction of Elisabeth Fuchs in various performances, among others in the Large Festival Hall in Salzburg, the Alpenarena in Bad Hofgastein and at the Saxon Mozart Festival in Chemnitz.
The program ranges from Carl Orff's “Carmina Burana” to Beethoven's 9th Symphony with Friedrich Schiller's “Ode to Joy” set to music to the most famous opera choirs.

Next choir project:
WED April 5, 2023 19:30 PM Mozart's Requiem
THU April 6, 2023 19:30 p.m. Mozart's Requiem
Great Hall Mozarteum, Salzburg
More information about the concert - click here.

Registration for the Mozart Requiem is not yet possible.

As soon as registration is possible, you will find one Online registration option further down on this page (online registration preferred).
Or you can fill out the registration form and send it completed and signed by post or email to:

chor@philharmoniesalzburg.at
Philharmonic Salzburg
zH. Julia Mortelmaier
Moosstrasse 86
5020 Salzburg

Due to space availability, we ask for your understanding that not all registrations can be considered.
Contact: Julia Mörtelmaier, MA, chor@philharmoniesalzburg.at, + 43 664 420 06 05

We look forward to your participation and singing together!

Past choir projects of the Salzburg Philharmonic can be found here:

Past choir projects

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

In principle, anyone can register for the choir of the Salzburg Philharmonic, preference is given to people with singing/choir experience. The choir of the Salzburg Philharmonic is made up of professional singers and amateur singers.

You can log in with either the Online Form under www.philharmoniesalzburg.at/chor/ or send the completed registration form either by e-mail Email an chor@philharmoniesalzburg.at or by Post to the Salzburg Philharmonic, Julia Mörtelmaier, Moosstr. 86, 5020 Salzburg.

The PDF online form is available for download further up the page, but online registration is preferred.

In this case, unfortunately, there was an error during registration. Please fill out the online form again or, alternatively, download the PDF registration form further up on the page, fill it out and send it either by Email an chor@philharmoniesalzburg.at or by Post to the Salzburg Philharmonic, Julia Mörtelmaier, Moosstr. 86, 5020 Salzburg.

The current rehearsal schedule is available for download at the top of the page.

No, there is no audition. In principle, anyone can register for the choir of the Salzburg Philharmonic, preference is given to people with singing/choir experience. The choir of the Salzburg Philharmonic is made up of professional singers and amateur singers.

Depending on the size of the project, between 80 and 250 singers sing in the choir of the Salzburg Philharmonic.

The choir rehearsals always start 6-8 weeks before the respective concert date and then take place 1-2 times a week in the evening.

The current rehearsal schedule is available for download at the top of the page.

Most of the rehearsals are currently taking place in Seminar room of the Stiegl-Brauwelt, Bräuhausstrasse 9, 5020 Salzburg.

Other possible rehearsal rooms are:
Rehearsal room of the Salzburg Philharmonic, Pfarre St. Paul, Eduard-Hergetstraße 5, 5020 Salzburg
Odeïon Culture and Event Center, Waldorfstraße 13, 5023 Salzburg
Schüttkasten, Herbert-von-Karajan-Platz 11, 5020 Salzburg
Large Festival Hall, Hofstallgasse 1, 5020 Salzburg

The current rehearsal room can be found in the rehearsal plan (download on the page above).

Most of the choir rehearsals are conducted by Elisabeth Fuchs herself. Should she be prevented, another choir director will be organized.

In principle, it is desired that the singers are present at all rehearsals. In the case of pure choir rehearsals, however, it is permitted to be absent 1-2 times without consulting the choir director.
All singers are obliged to be present at the overall rehearsals with orchestra and soloists as well as the dress rehearsal immediately before the respective concert. It will be about only missing here in absolute exceptional cases and to coordinate the absence with Julia Mörtelmaier in advance.

No, sheet music does not have to be printed out or purchased yourself. The notes are prepared by the Salzburg Philharmonic and at the rehearsals issued or sent by email before the first rehearsal or made available for download.

Masks are not compulsory for all rehearsals until further notice, but the government's recommendation to wear a mask indoors still applies. There is no longer any obligation to test all samples until further notice, but we still welcome it if you do an antigen test before the samples.

Find the samples without mask and without mandatory minimum distance statt (Recommendation to keep your distance depending on the space available). We would like to point out that there is always a residual risk of infection, for which we at the Salzburg Philharmonic are not liable.

Basically for all concerts:
Damen: black long (also applies to women who sing tenor): This includes long black trousers and skirts with blouses/elegant tops and long dresses. Black dresses (at least above the knee length!) with black, opaque tights are also possible.
Herren: black suit, white shirt, white bow tie

Chor der Philharmonie Salzburg

Der Chor der Philharmonie Salzburg wirkt zusammen mit der Philharmonie Salzburg unter der Leitung von Elisabeth Fuchs bei verschiedenen Auftritten u. a. im Großen Festspielhaus Salzburg, der Alpenarena Bad Hofgastein und beim Sächsischen Mozartfest in Chemnitz mit.
Das Programm reicht dabei von Carl Orffs „Carmina Burana“ über Beethovens 9. Symphonie mit Friedrich Schillers vertonter „Ode an die Freude“ bis hin zu den berühmtesten Opernchören.

Nächstes Chorprojekt:
MI · 5. April 2023 · 19:30 · Mozarts Requiem
DO · 6. April 2023 · 19:30 · Mozarts Requiem
Großer Saal Mozarteum, Salzburg
Weitere Informationen zum Konzert – hier klicken.

Die Anmeldung für das Mozart-Requiem ist derzeit noch nicht möglich.

Sobald die Anmeldung möglich ist, finden Sie eine Online-Anmeldemöglichkeit weiter unten auf dieser Seite (Online-Anmeldung bevorzugt).
Oder Sie füllen dann das Anmeldeformular aus und senden Sie dieses ausgefüllt und unterzeichnet per Post oder Email an:

chor@philharmoniesalzburg.at
Philharmonie Salzburg
zH. Julia Mörtelmaier
Moosstraße 86
5020 Salzburg

Aufgrund von Platzkapazitäten bitten wir um Verständnis, dass eventuell nicht alle Anmeldungen berücksichtigt werden können.
Kontakt: Julia Mörtelmaier, MA, chor@philharmoniesalzburg.at, +43 664 420 06 05

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme und auf das gemeinsame Singen!

Vergangene Chor-Projekte der Philharmonie Salzburg finden Sie hier:

Vergangene Chorprojekte

FAQ – Häufig gestellte Fragen

Grundsätzlich kann sich jede*r für den Chor der Philharmonie Salzburg anmelden, bevorzug werden Personen mit Gesangs/Chorerfahrung. Der Chor der Philharmonie Salzburg setzt sich zusammen aus Profisänger*innen und Hobbysänger*innen.

Anmelden kann man sich entweder mit dem Online-Formular unter www.philharmoniesalzburg.at/chor/ oder man schickt das ausgefüllte Anmeldeformular entweder per Email an chor@philharmoniesalzburg.at oder per Post an Philharmonie Salzburg, Julia Mörtelmaier, Moosstr. 86, 5020 Salzburg.

Das PDF-Onlineformular steht weiter oben auf der Seite zum Download zur Verfügung, die Online-Anmeldung wird aber bevorzugt.

In diesem Fall gab es leider einen Fehler bei der Anmeldung. Bitte einfach das Online-Formular nochmal ausfüllen oder alternativ das PDF-Anmeldeformular weiter oben auf der Seite herunterladen, ausfüllen und entweder per Email an chor@philharmoniesalzburg.at oder per Post an Philharmonie Salzburg, Julia Mörtelmaier, Moosstr. 86, 5020 Salzburg schicken.

Der aktuelle Probenplan befindet sich weiter oben auf der Seite zum Download.

Nein, es gibt kein Vorsingen. Grundsätzlich kann sich jede*r für den Chor der Philharmonie Salzburg anmelden, bevorzug werden Personen mit Gesangs/Chorerfahrung. Der Chor der Philharmonie Salzburg setzt sich zusammen aus Profisänger*innen und Hobbysänger*innen.

Je nach Projektgröße singen zwischen 80 und 250 Sänger*innen im Chor der Philharmonie Salzburg.

Die Chorproben starten immer 6-8 Wochen vor dem jeweiligen Konzerttermin und finden dann 1-2 Mal pro Woche abends statt.

Der aktuelle Probeplan befindet sich weiter oben auf der Seite zum Download.

Derzeit findet ein Großteil der Proben im Seminarraum der Stiegl-Brauwelt, Bräuhausstraße 9, 5020 Salzburg statt.

Andere mögliche Probenräume sind:
Proberaum der Philharmonie Salzburg, Pfarre St. Paul, Eduard-Hergetstraße 5, 5020 Salzburg
Odeïon Kultur- und Veranstaltungszentrum, Waldorfstraße 13, 5023 Salzburg
Schüttkasten, Herbert-von-Karajan-Platz 11, 5020 Salzburg
Großes Festspielhaus, Hofstallgasse 1, 5020 Salzburg

Der jeweils aktuelle Probenraum kann dem Probenplan (Download auf der Seite weiter oben) entnommen werden.

Der Großteil der Chorproben wird von Elisabeth Fuchs selbst geleitet. Sollte sie einmal verhindert sein, wird ein*e andere*r Chorleiter*in organisiert.

Grundsätzlich ist es erwünscht, dass die Sänger*innen bei allen Proben anwesend sind. Bei den reinen Chorproben ist es aber erlaubt, ohne Rücksprache mit der Chorleitung 1-2 Mal zu fehlen.
Bei den Gesamtproben mit Orchester und Solist*innen sowie der Generalprobe unmittelbar vor dem jeweiligen Konzert besteht für alle Sänger*innen Anwesenheitspflicht. Es wird darum geben, hier nur in absoluten Ausnahmefällen zu fehlen und die Abwesenheit vorab mit Julia Mörtelmaier abzusprechen.

Nein, Noten müssen nicht selbst ausgedruckt oder gekauft werden. Die Noten werden von der Philharmonie Salzburg vorbereitet und bei den Proben ausgegeben bzw. vor der ersten Probe per Email verschickt oder zum Download bereitgestellt.

Für alle Proben gilt bis auf Widerruf keine Maskenpflicht, aber die Empfehlung der Regierung zum Tragen einer Maske in geschlossenen Räumen gilt weiterhin. Es besteht für alle Proben bis auf Widerruf keine Testpflicht mehr, wir begrüßen es aber trotzdem, wenn ihr vor den Proben einen Antigentest macht.

Die Proben finden ohne Maske und ohne verpflichtenden Mindestabstand statt (nach Platzangebot Empfehlung, Abstand zu halten). Wir weisen darauf hin, dass immer ein Restrisiko bzgl. Ansteckung bleibt, für das wir als Philharmonie Salzburg nicht haften.

Für alle Konzerte grundsätzlich:
Damen: schwarz lang (gilt auch für Damen, die Tenor singen): Dazu zählen lange schwarze Hosen und Röcke mit Blusen/eleganten Oberteilen und lange Kleider. Auch schwarze Kleider (mindestens Über-Knie-Länge!) mit schwarzer, blickdichter Strumpfhose sind möglich.
Herren: schwarzer Anzug, weißes Hemd, weiße Fliege