Romantic worlds of sound with Mendelssohn's "Italian"
Joanna Kamenarska plays Schumann's Violin Concerto

The music expresses that which cannot be said and about which it is impossible to be silent.
- Victor Hugo

F. MENDELSSOHN BARTHOLDY · Concert Overture No. 2, The Hebrides, Op. 26
R. SCHUMANN · Violin Concerto, D minor, WoO 1
F. MENDELSSOHN BARTHOLDY · Symphony No. 4 in A major, Op. 90, Italian

The audience is immersed in the great soundscapes of the Romantic era. Water, sea and wind inspired Mendelssohn-Bartholdy on his journey to the Scottish Hebrides, while the popular Italian reflects the impressions of his journey to our southern neighbor. Schumann's last orchestral concerto, the Violin Concerto in D minor, initially remained unpublished. It was first performed in 1937, when Mendelssohn's work had to give way. In this concert we listen to both. Violin soloist Joanna Kamenarska, Int. Winner of the Mozart Competition and concertmaster of the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra, she plays this special late work of great romantic music.

Joanna Kamenarska · Solo violin
Elisabeth Fuchs · Conductor
Philharmonic Salzburg

SA · 25. March 2023 · 19: 30
SO · 26. March 2023 · 18: 00
Great University Hall, Salzburg

Concert duration approx. 90 minutes. Concerts without a break.

Ticket prices: € 12 to € 59
Organizer · Tickets: Salzburg Philharmonic and Children's Festival

Photo © Evelina Kislych- Soch